USC Logo


Members of the USC WiSE community regularly make headlines for their research and achievements. Please visit the links below for recent news about the WiSE Program and WiSE-affiliated faculty, students and postdoctoral scholars.

May 2019

Congratulations to Jessica Parr (Chemistry) on receiving the Distinguished Faculty Service Award from the USC Academic Senate for her dedicated and impactful service and advocacy for the faculty of USC.

April 2019

Congratulations to Maryam Shanechi on receiving the 2019 Viterbi Junior Research Award!

Congratulations to Bistra Dilkina (Computer Science) on being the recipient of the Okawa Foundation award for her work on “AI for Wildlife Conservation”.

March 2019

Congratulations to Sami Assaf (Mathematics) on her promotion to Associate Professor with tenure.

Congratulations to Amy Childress (Civil and Environmental Engineering) on being selected for a 2019-2020 Fulbright U.S. Scholar award (to Denmark).

Congratulations to Juhi Jang (Mathematics) on being selected as a 2019 Simons Fellowship recipient in Mathematics and Physical Sciences.

Congratulations to Stacey Finley (Biomedical Engineering) on her promotion to Associate Professor with tenure.

February 2019

Congratulations to Smaranda Marinescu (Chemistry) and Carly Kenkel (Biological Sciences) on receiving the 2019 Sloan Research Fellowship (

Congratulations to Kelly Sanders (Civil and Environmental Engineering and Spatial Sciences) on receiving an NSF CAREER award.

Congratulations to Eun Ji Chung (Biomedical Engineering) on her appointment as the inaugural holder of The Dr. Karl Jacob Jr. and Karl Jacob III Early-Career Chair.

Congratulations to Mahta Moghaddam (Electrical Engineering) on being elected to the National Academy of Engineering, “For development of physics-based computational algorithms for mapping of subsurface characteristics.”

January 2019

Congratulations to Maryam Shanechi (Electrical Engineering) on receiving the 2019 ONR Young Investigator Award.

Congratulations to Maja Mataric (Computer Science) on her appointment as a Distinguished Professor, in recognition of Maja’s pioneering work in the field of robotics, as well as her commitment to mentoring generations of women and underrepresented populations in the sciences and engineering.

December 2018

Congratulations to Ellis Meng (Biomedical Engineering) on being named a National Academy of Inventors (NAI) Fellow.

Congratulations to Elena Pierpaoli (Physics and Astronomy) on receiving the Simons Fellowship in Theoretical  Physics.

November 2018

Congratulations to Elena Pierpaoli (Physics and Astronomy) on being awarded the 2018 Gruber Foundation Cosmology Prize in recognition of theoretical, analytical, conceptual or observational discoveries leading to fundamental advances in understanding the universe.

Congratulations to Michelle Povinelli (Electrical Engineering) on being promoted to Full Professor.

Congratulations to Amy Childress (Civil & Environmental Engineering) on being elected as a AEESP Fellow for advancing the science and technology of membrane-based desalination and wastewater reuse.

Congratulations to Mahta Moghaddam (Electrical Engineering) on being elected President of the IEEE Antennas and Propogation Society.

September 2018

Congratulations to Carolina Amador (Chemistry PhD Student) on receiving a 2018 Biocom Catalyst Award. The award recognizes leaders and innovators in the Los Angeles Biotech Community.

Congratulations to Professor Debashree Ghosh (Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science; recipient of the WiSE Merit Award for PhD Students in 2011) on being selected as the 2018 recipient of the PCCP Emerging Investigator Lectureship.

Congratulations to Eun Ji Chung (Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering) on being named a recipient of the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award.

August 2018

Congratulations to Yan Liu (Computer Science) on being selected as a new voice of National Academies of Science, Engineering and Medicine.