USC Logo


Member of the USC WiSE community regularly make headlines for their research and achievements. Please visit the links below for recent news about the WiSE Program and WiSE-affiliated faculty, students and postdoctoral scholars.

June 2016

Congratulations to Professor Hanna Reisler (Chemistry) on her receipt of the INSIGHT Into Diversity 2016 Inspiring Women in Stem Award. She will be recognized in the upcoming September STEM issue of INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine.

April 2016

Congratulations to Professor Susan Forsburg (Biological Sciences) on her receipt of a MIRA (Maximizing Investigator’s Research Awards) from the National Institute of General Medical Science. Forsburg is one of the first in the country to receive this new type of grant.

Congratulations to Professor Jill McNitt-Gray  (Biological Sciences) on receiving the 2016 Jim Hay Memorial Award –which recognizes outstanding accomplishments in sports and exercise sciences biomechanics.

Congratulations to Veronica Eliasson (Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering) on her promotion to Associate Professor with tenure.

eCongratulations to Yan Liu (Computer Science) on her promotion to Associate Professor with tenure.

Congratulations to Professor Anna Krylov (Chemistry) on receiving the Phi Kappa Phi Faculty Recognition Award.

Congratulations to Professor Susan Forsburg (Biological Sciences) on receiving a USC Associates Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Congratulations to Professor Mahta Moghaddam (Electrical Engineering) on being appointed the Viterbi School of Engineering’s interim Vice Dean for Research.

Congratulations to Professor Andrea Hodge (Chemical Engineering and Materials Science & AME) on being appointed as holder of the Arthur B. Freeman Professorship as well as being appointed Vice Provost of Undergraduate Programs.

March 2016

Congratulations to Professor Ellis Meng (Biomedical Engineering) and Associate Professor Eva Kanso (Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering) on being selected as recipients of the 2016 USC Mentoring Awards. Ellis is receiving an award for faculty mentoring faculty, and Eva is receiving an award for faculty mentoring graduate students.

Congratulations to Jessica Parr (Chemistry) on being promoted to Associate Professor (Teaching).

Congratulations to Professor Andrea Hodge (Chemical Engineering and Materials Science & AME) on receiving the Early Career Achievement Award for Alumni of Materials Science and Engineering at Northwestern University.

February 2016

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Naomi Levine (Marine Environmental Biology) on being recognized as one of the 2016 class of Sloan Fellows in the Ocean Sciences division.

January 2016

Congratulations to Professor Maja Mataric (Computer Science) on being elected AAAI Fellow.

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Smaranda Marinescu (Chemistry) on recieving the NSF CAREER award.

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Nora Ayanian (Computer Science) on receiving the NSF CAREER award.

December 2015

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Stacey Finley (Biomedical Engineering) on being selected as a Keystone Symposia Fellow. This research-driven, diversity-centered program educates early-career scientists on the inner workings of the life science community and provides a venue for high-level interaction with established and leading scientists nationally and globally.

Congratulations to Andrea Hodge (Chemical Engineering and Materials Science) on her promotion to Full Professor.

November 2015

Congratulations to Professor Ellis Meng (Biomedical Engineering) on becoming an IEEE fellow.

Congratulations to former WiSE Undergraduate Fellow, Moriah Mulroe, on her receipt of the prestigious Marshall Scholarship for graduate studies. Professor Hanna Reisler (Chemistry) is Moriah’s faculty advisor.

Congratulations to Professor Urbashi Mitra (Electrical Engineering) on her appointment as Dean’s Professor of Electrical Engineering.

October 2015

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Minlan Yu (Computer Science) on her appointment as an Andrew and Erna Viterbi Early Career Chair.

September 2015

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Maryam Shanechi (Electrical Engineering) on being selected by Popular Science as one of this year’s Brilliant 10. For more click here.

July 2015

Congratulations to Professor Anna Krylov (Chemistry) on being elected fellow of the American Chemical Society.

Congratulations to Professor Jill McNitt-Gray (Biological Sciences) on being elected fellow of the International Biomechanics Society.