USC Logo


Members of the USC WiSE community regularly make headlines for their research and achievements. Please visit the links below for recent news about the WiSE Program and WiSE-affiliated faculty, students and postdoctoral scholars.

May 2018

Congratulations to Suzanne Edmands (Biological Sciences) on being appointed as holder of the Gabilan Distinguished Professorship in Science and Engineering.

Congratulations to Michelle Povinelli (Electrical Engineering) on being appointed as holder of the Gabilan Distinguished Associate Professorship in Science and Engineering.

Congratulations to Ellis Meng (Biomedical Engineering) on receiving the 2018 EMBS Technical Achievement Award for IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society.

Congratulations to Megan McCain (Biomedical Engineering) on being named one of the 2018 Young Innovators of Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering by the Biomedical Engineering Society.

March 2018

Congratulations to Irene Chiolo (Biological Sciences) on receiving an NSF CAREER award.

Congratulations to Raffaella Ghittoni (Biological Sciences) on being promoted to Assistant Professor (Teaching).

Congratulations to Anna Krylov (Chemistry) on receiving a 2018 Simons Fellowship in Theoretical Physics.

Join us for the WiSE Research Horizons Symposium: A Showcase of Cutting Edge Research in Health, Nano Science, and Sustainability on Friday, March 23 from 8:00am-1:15pm in EEB 132.

Congratulations to Leana Golubchik (Computer Science and jointly EE) on her appointment to the Stephen and Etta Varra Professorship.

February 2018

Congratulations to Sarah Feakins (Earth Sciences) on being named a 2018-2019 AAAS Alan I. Leshner Leadership Institute Public Engagement Fellow.

January 2018

Congratulations to Anna Krylov (Chemistry) on receiving the Mildred Dresselhaus Award 2017 at the University of Hamburg for her “outstanding contributions to electronic-structure theory”.

November 2017

Congratulations to Alice Parker (Electrical Engineering) on being a 2017 inductee to the ECE Alumni Hall of Fame at NC State University.

October 2017

Congratulations to Urbashi Mitra (Electrical Engineering) on being the recipient of this year’s IEEE Communications Society WICE (Women in Communications Engineering) Outstanding Achievement Award.

Congratulations to Professor Andrea Armani (Chemical Engineering & Materials Science) on her appointment as the inaugural holder of the Ray Irani Chair in Engineering and Materials Science.

September 2017

Congratulations to Professor Yan Liu (Computer Science) on receiving Biocom’s Second Annual Life Science Catalyst Award.

August 2017

Congratulations to Professor Ellis Meng (Biomedical Engineering) on being named ASME fellow.

Congratulations to Professor Eun Ji Chung (Biomedical Engineering) on receiving AIChE’s 35 under 35 award in the Bioengineeing category.

Congratulations to Professor Urbashi Mitra (Electrical Engineering) on her appointment as the holder of the Gordon S. Marshall Chair in Engineering.

Congratulations to Professor Alice Parker (Electrical Engineering) on her appointment as the new Dean’s Professor of Electrical Engineering.

Congratulations to Professor  Ellis Meng (Biomedical Engineering) on being named BMES (Biomedical Engineering Society) Fellow.